

BOARD OF EDUCATION of SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 36 (SURREY)

Board Committees & Trustee Representation January 1, 2020 - December 31, 2020

STANDING COMMITTEES OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION				
FINANCE COMMITTEE	Chairperson: Members:	Terry Allen All Trustees		
AUDIT COMMITTEE	•	Gary Tymoschuk Terry Allen Shawn Wilson		
POLICY COMMITTEE	•	Gary Tymoschuk Bob Holmes Shawn Wilson		

STAKEHOLDERS & ELECTED OFFICIALS LIAISON MEETINGS

Meetings are held at least annually with the groups identified below. The planned meetings permit the groups to meet collectively with trustees and senior management to discuss issues and concerns having a district-wide interest. See *Policy #2680 - Stakeholders & Elected Officials Liaison Meetings* for additional information.

CITY OF SURREY LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
CITY OF WHITE ROCK LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
CUPE LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
DPAC LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
EPEG LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
SPVPA LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
STA LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
MLAs LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees
MPs LIAISON	Members:	All Trustees



Trustee Responsibilities as Board Representatives

- Report out on committee activities.
- Committee minutes to be forwarded by the Committee Chair to the Secretary Treasurer's Department for inclusion in the Trustees' Information Bulletin.
- Refer to Board Policy 2320 Board Committees & Trustee Representation for additional guidance.

DISTRICT COMMITTEES

LEARNING LIAISON COMMITTEE

This committee meets six (6) times per year to explore how the Board is working towards achieving each of its annual educational goals and performing as a district.

Composition:

- 1 trustee as Chair designated by the Board Chair
- Up to 2 trustees as representatives designated by the Board Chair
- 1 senior staff Superintendent or designate
- 2 SPVPA representatives
- 2 DPAC representatives
- 2 CUPE representatives
- 2 STA representatives
- 2 student representatives

Chairperson: Laurae McNally

Trustee: Gary Tymoschuk
Trustee: Laurie Larsen

Alternate: Terry Allen

STUDENT VOICE COMMITTEE (IDEAS 36)

This committee includes student representatives from each secondary school and focuses on student leadership.

Trustee: Laurie Larsen Staff Contact: Jordan Tinney



DISTRICT COMMITTEES contd...

ABORIGINAL EDUCATION COUNCIL

This Council meets four (4) times a year to discuss program needs, enrollment, location, facilities and other relevant issues, and make recommendations to the Board.

Trustee: Laurie Larsen Staff Contact: Lyn Daniels

Composition:

- 1 District Principal for Aboriginal Education (Chair)
- 1 trustee
- 1 senior management representative

Representative(s) from:

Katzie First Nation, Metis Nation BC, Semiahmoo first

Nation (1 each)

Kekinow Native Housing Society (1)

CUPE, SPVPA, STA representatives (1 each)

Parents, Aboriginal Community (5)

Aboriginal Elder (1)

PRINCIPAL & VICE-PRINCIPAL SELECTION COMMITTEES

	Staff Contact:	Lynda Reeve
Elementary Vice-Principals	Trustee:	Laurae McNally
	Alternate:	Shawn Wilson
Elementary Principals	Trustee:	Laurae McNally
	Alternate:	Bob Holmes
Secondary Vice-Principals	Trustee:	Garry Thind
	Alternate:	Shawn Wilson
Secondary Principals	Trustee:	Garry Thind
	Alternate:	Gary Tymoschuk
District Principals	Trustee:	Laurie Larsen
	Alternate:	Terry Allen
Learning Centre & Continuing Education	Trustee:	Shawn Wilson
	Alternate:	Garry Thind
Summer School Principals	Trustee:	Shawn Wilson
	Alternate:	Garry Thind



TRUSTEE REPRESENTATION ON EXTERNAL COMMITTEES				
BCPSEA - BC Public School Employers Association - Director - Bargaining Committee	Trustee:	Shawn Wilson Terry Allen Terry Allen		
BCSTA - Provincial Council Representative		Laurae McNally Bob Holmes		
BCSTA - Metro Branch		Bob Holmes Laurae McNally		
BCSTA - Lower Mainland E.L.L. Consortium		Bob Holmes Garry Thind		
The following are appointments by the BCSTA:				
BCSTA - Teacher Qualification Board	Trustee:	Laurae McNally		
BCSTA/BCTF - Group Life Insurance Committee	Trustee:	Laurae McNally		
BCSTA - Credentials Committee	Trustee:	Bob Holmes		
BCSTA - Legislative Committee	Trustee:	Bob Holmes		
City of Surrey	Trustee:	Laurie Larsen		
City of Surrey - Parks, Recreation & Culture	Trustee:	Gary Tymoschuk		
City of White Rock	Trustee:	Laurae McNally		
DPAC - District Parent Advisory Council Liaison	Trustee:	Garry Thind		
SBOT - Surrey Board of Trade Policy & Education	Trustee:	Garry Thind		
SEEDS of Change Surrey (Formerly Surrey/White Rock Food Action Coalition)	Trustee:	Bob Holmes		

AD-HOC COMMITTEES

From time to time, Ad-hoc committees are established to address emergent issues. When such need arises, Executive Committee will appoint a chairperson, and will request through the Board Chair that a trustee representative be appointed. Additional representation of partner groups will be determined with the Board and Executive Committee.

SCHOOL NAMING COMMITTEE Trustee: Shawn Wilson

Trustee: Bob Holmes